Perfect Strangers (as made famous by Deep Purple)

“Perfect Strangers” is a song by the British hard rock band Deep Purple. It is the title track of their 1984 comeback album Perfect Strangers.

It is one of the few Deep Purple songs not to feature a guitar solo. Nevertheless, band guitarist Ritchie Blackmore has called it his favorite Deep Purple song.[1]

The lyrics are actually inspired by the Elric books by Michael Moorcock.[2]

It has been covered by Dimmu Borgir on their album Abrahadabra as a bonus track.
It was also covered by progressive metal band Dream Theater on their EP A Change of Seasons. Dream Theater also performed it live on a BBC Radio show along with Iron Maiden vocalist Bruce Dickinson singing the lead vocals.
Hard rock vocalist Jørn Lande covered it on his solo album Unlocking the Past.
Finnish duo Timo Kotipelto and Jani Liimatainen have covered it during live performances and on their studio album Blackoustic.

Ritchie Blackmore – guitar
Ian Gillan – vocals
Roger Glover – bass
Jon Lord – organ
Ian Paice – drums

It was used by Extreme Championship Wrestling wrestlers “The Franchise” Shane Douglas and Dean Malenko as an entrance theme. Soundalike versions were used for his later runs in World Championship Wrestling and Total Nonstop Action Wrestling.